How to Apply:

Applications will be accepted until Sunday June 14, 2020 (Sivan 22) at 12:00 noon and should be sent to In the topic line of the email please indicate the category.

Each application should include the name of the candidate or the community, a detailed description of why the candidate is worthy for the prize based on the criteria below, the names of 2 references including contact information and the name of contact person.

Rabbinic Achievement Award:

  • Has served as a synagogue community rabbi for at least 5 years
  • Ordained as a rabbi by the Chief Rabbinate of the State of Israel
  • Is regularly available to and in contact with his congregants
  • Teaches shiurim to a wide array of audiences
  • Works to make the synagogue accessible to all populations including the secular
  • Works to make the synagogue accessible to people with disabilities
  • Counsels and is available to congregants for personal issues and in times of crisis
  • A beloved person who inspires his community
  • A figure who unifies and instills peace in the community

Community Excellence Award:

  • Community has been in existence for a minimum of years
  • Synagogue employs a rabbi
  • Synagogue conducts Tefilla and Shiurim on Shabbat and during the week
  • Synagogue community engages in acts of chesed internally (births, mourning etc.)
  • Synagogue community engages in wider chesed activities
  • Synagogue actively opens its doors to all segments of the community and attempts to be inclusive in all its activities
  • Synagogue works to be accessible and inclusive of people with disabilities
  • Synagogue works to improve the larger community in which it is located

Distinguished Synagogue President/Gabbai Award

  • Has worked on behalf of the synagogue community for at least 5 years
  • Has developed synagogue community financially
  • Is beloved by his community and works in an inclusive and participatory manner
  • Has a unique story
  • Dedicates time to the synagogue on a weekly basis